Multiple Teams · Middle School Winter 2019 Tryout Dates


If you are interested in competing in a winter sport at A.I. Root or Claggett Middle Schools, you can find our tryout information below:

For students trying out and participating in winter sports please make sure you have the following completed:
1. You have a Final Forms account https://medina-oh.finalforms.com
2. Parent Forms are signed
3. Student Forms are signed
4. You have selected your winter sport
5. You have an updated OHSAA physical on file and make sure it is stamped *https://ohsaa.org/medicine/physicalexamform

*Students must have a valid physical on file at the school or presented at the time of the try-out*
*Please turn physical into building secretary*

A.I. Root Middle School

*Girls basketball will have open gyms 10/15, 10/17, 10/22, and 10/24 from 3:45-4:45pm*

7th Grade Girls Basketball: Tryouts begin 10/28 at 3:45pm, Root Middle School Gym, Coach TBA

8th Grade Girls Basketball: Tryouts begin 10/28 at 3:45pm, Root Middle School Gym, Coach Heather Bittinger, bittingh@medinabees.org

*Root 7th grade boys basketball will have open gyms 10/17 and 10/24 from 2:30-3:30pm.*

7th Grade Boys Basketball: Tryouts begin 11/01 at 2:30pm, Root Middle School Gym, Coach Ben Stobbs, stobbsb@medinabees.org

*Root 8th grade boys basketball will have open gyms 10/14, 10/21, and 10/23 from 3:30-4:30pm*

8th Grade Boys Basketball: Tryouts begin 11/01 at 5:45pm, Root Middle School Gym, Coach Brett Smith, smithb@medinabees.org

*Cheerleading will have a meeting on 10/14 at 2:30 in the Root Middle School cafeteria*

*Cheerleading will have open clinics 10/21 at 2:30pm and 10/22 at 2:30pm*

Cheerleading: Tryouts 10/23 at 2:30pm, Root Middle School Cafeteria, Coach Emily Semenik, semenike@medinabees.org

Claggett Middle School 

*Girls Basketball will have open gyms on Tuesdays and Thursdays each week from 3:00-4:30pm, until tryouts begin*

7th Grade Girls Basketball: Tryouts begin 10/28 at 3:00pm, Claggett Middle School Gym, Coach Pete Hoffman, hoffmanp@medinabees.org

8th Grade Girls Basketball: Tryouts begin 10/28 at 3:oopm, Claggett Middle School Gym, Coach Chris Kocar, kocarc@medinabees.org

7th Grade Boys Basketball: Tryouts begin 11/01 at 3:00pm, Location TBA (Medina High School or Medina Recreation Center), Coach Adrian Stockman, bballstock14@gmail.com

8th Grade Boys Basketball: Tryouts begin  11/01 at 3:00pm, Location TBA (Medina High School or Medina Recreation Center), Coach Jody Peters, petersj@medinabees.org

*Cheerleading will have a meeting on 10/15 in room 107 right after school*

Cheerleading: Tryouts begin 11/12 at 3:00pm, Claggett Middle School Cafeteria, Coach Keli Helman, helmank@medinabees.org

Wrestling (Combined)

Informational meeting 10/23 at 5:00pm, Wrestling Room (board office), Coach Curt Kearney, kearneyc@medinabees.org